A Mommy and her boys

Playing, diapers, learning diapers, feeding, diapers and growing…one day at a time!

Gestational Diabetes January 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — harrisonandmommy @ 1:02 pm

All right, so I met with the GD nurse and have all that I need to figure out this GD.  So I have to take my blood sugar levels five times a day — not so fun.  I HATE needles.  BUT, I’m doing okay with this.  It isn’t really bad at all.  My levels have all been within the range that they need to be except for my fasting ones (the one first thing in the morning, and I’m not sure why they are higher).  The diet thing is fine.  The only real change is that I have been forcing myself to eat at regular intervals.  As far as what I have been eating, I have just cut out sweets for the most part.  I still cheat a bit and my levels have been fine.  The nurse explained how I should be able to do that and it seems to be working.  I just have to have one less serving of carbs at dinner or whatever if I want to have a small dessert.  It is working right now.  I also have to go in for regular non-stress tests every week.  I’m not sure exactly how that is going to go, or what it is really, but it will be fine.  I know they hook up monitors and stuff, but that’s all I know.  I need to get a babysitter on those days or there is no way my stress tests will go well 🙂

Also, because Harrison was a C-section, this one will be too now.  I meet with the drs next week to confirm everything, but looks like I’m having another C-section.  I was really hoping for a VBAC, but moreso hoping for a healthy baby 🙂  The nurse said that at 36 weeks they will do an ultrasound and if the baby is over 8 lbs they will schedule the C-section. 

Looking for a new apartment/house.  We need something bigger and we started looking again online last night and there are LOTS of bigger and nicer places for less or what we are paying, so looks like there will be a move and a new baby within a couple of weeks of each other — hopefully the move comes first!

🙂

 

6 Responses to “Gestational Diabetes”

  1. Chas Says:

    Are you guys wanting to rent or buy? Interest rates are SO low!

  2. harrisonandmommy Says:

    We are going to rent until hubby gets a promotion. Then we will buy. We looked into a couple of different houses to buy, but feel we should continue to rent for a while longer. I really was hoping to buy, but I guess it isn’t meant to be right now.

  3. emmakirst Says:

    I’m glad that things are looking good for the GD (well you know what I mean, at least the levels are good and no insulin!)

    Sorry you won’t be able to get the VBAC, but you’re right a healthy baby is more important.

    I hope that you find a place soon, good luck!

  4. whimsicalchaos Says:

    non-stress tests are they stick some monitors on you and then record the baby’s heart rate… if the baby doesn’t behave then you get an ultrasound… also eat something about 15 mins before the NS tests… it helps if the baby is active… I got to sit in a really nice recliner and I forget how many times I feel asleep while waiting for it to finish lol…

    But are they having you count the carbs in your fruits and veggies? They didn’t have me count those and it really messed with my lvls… and I also had to test 5 times a day… but on you on insluin or pills or is it just diet?

  5. Katrina Says:

    I am glad to hear that the levels are good during the day. If they can’t get your fasting levels to be at a good level they may put you on a long lasting insulin just for the night time. I am glad you are looking for somewhere bigger to live. I know how that feels. Keep us posted on baby and place to live!

    Love,
    Trina

  6. Jen Says:

    Hi! I just wanted to share that I had a wonderful home VBAC to a 9 lb, 10 oz baby boy! Even if your ultrasound shows a baby over 8 lbs, you can still VBAC. I was surprised to learn that the American Academy of Obstetricians and Gynecologists doesn’t recommend inducing, or scheduling cesareans, because a big baby is suspected. You can read their Practice Guidelines here: http://www.aafp.org/afp/20010701/practice.html and you can view an inspiring video of women who birthed ‘big babies’ here: http://youtube.com/watch?v=roFVkDV45MM. Finally, if I haven’t already worn out my welcome with this comment, read my birth story here: vbacfacts.com/hbac. 🙂
    Best of luck with your birth, however your baby is born.


Leave a Reply

