A Mommy and her boys

Playing, diapers, learning diapers, feeding, diapers and growing…one day at a time!

Diaper Bag?? February 10, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — harrisonandmommy @ 2:52 am

All right, ladies, it is time to tell all about diaper bags.  Yes, I know, I’m not a first-time mom, but we have yet to have luck with getting a good diaper bag that stands up to the wear and tear of me. 

We are also trying to figure out what stroller we want.  This is the one we saw tonight that we really like, but is it worth $230?  Oy! http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2718786

Any other advice or ideas from moms with more than one child?  Anything that has been a life saver for you with two? 

Harrison has a NASTY cough and a really runny nose.  Of course, since he has had croup, I watch him like a hawk when he gets a cough like this.  Especially since one of his little friends was just in the hospital with pneumonia — yikes!

I really just keep hoping he is going to get better, but it isn’t looking that way.  We will see how the little dude does tomorrow and if there isn’t much improvement then I’ll take him to the pediatrician on Monday.  We won’t be going to church tomorrow because I hate taking him out when he is sick because (a) I don’t want him to get anyone else sick and (b) I don’t want him to get anything else on top of what he already has. 

Looking forward to your help, responses and tips!

🙂

 

5 Responses to “Diaper Bag??”

  1. Shauna Says:

    Go to Designmom.com Look around and she has had some great diaper bag recommendations plus lots and lots of baby/kid gear advice.
    She is a great person and resource!

    Love the blankets! I like how you did the edges!

  2. Sharon Says:

    I love my diaper bag but I can’t find it on the toysrus website. It’s an Avent and I love that the clasps are magnetic (no rrrrriiiippp! in Sacrament meeting), the insulated pocket that can hold an 8 oz sippy/bottle, the big side pockets that fit a diaper wipe container perfectly, the small outer pocket for my cell phone, the zippered pocket for my wallet, and the big main section that can hold a lot of stuff. I also like the buckle on the strap that can slide to make the strap shorter or longer if I need to put it over my shoulder, plus it looks more like a messenger tote than a diaper bag. If I had to buy another one those are some of the things I would look for again.

    As for everything else, just the things that worked for #1 – bouncer seat, swing, etc. Anna was such a grump that I got a sling to carry her around in while I did things, which was a big help in the beginning since I couldn’t spend hours in the rocking chair. I guess I changed my thinking and expectations more than anything – if she was happy in her crib looking at her mobile, I took advantage of those 15 minutes instead of worrying that I was bad for leaving her alone in her room. I let daddy take over for real sometimes, instead of hovering around and fretting that he wasn’t doing it ‘just right’. I even let her sleep in our bed because it meant feeding time was just a matter of grabbing her ankle, pulling her down, and latching her on before falling back asleep. SOOO much better than getting out of a warm bed, although when she overstayed her welcome after a month it was hard to get her to leave. I still don’t regret what I did at the time to get those hours of sleep however!

    Hope Harrison is feeling better – Mattias likes watching his videos. Thanks for keeping him home from nursery. We do that too, and if more people did then there would be a lot fewer sick kiddies in my opinion. Still , I don’t know all the details of each family’s situation, so I guess I shouldn’t judge.

    Good luck with your last few weeks!

  3. whimsicalchaos Says:

    we have 3 different diaper bags lol… one that is black and looks like a laptop bag, one that is super big and holds a lot (used it a ton when Lore was tiny), and one that was free from Carters… ok bag… we use the laptop looking one a lot… it has insulated spots for bottles or sippys and holds a lot… I will look later to see if I can find it at bru website…

    and that is nuts for the cost of that stroller… check consigment shops!! Or MOPS yard sales!

  4. Amy Says:

    Delurking to say; ebags.com sells my MOST favorite diaper bag of all. Search “Derek Alexander diaper” the top zip carry all diaper bag is the one. I have TWO, in black AND taupe. SUPER SUPER SUPER. Worth the cash. Wait for a sale too then it is an even better deal they have a sale almost every week.

  5. Jen the Mom Says:

    I’m going to have to check out those links for diaper bags since I think I might have to replace mine as well. I didn’t think about it until this move and I saw what damage I’ve done to my diaper bag over the past two years.

    I wanted to throw my two cents in about strollers for more than one kid. I absolutely LOVE my stroller and coincidently Alyson has the same one. Check it out.
    http://www.chariotcarriers.com/
    They’re made in Calgary and they’re built for LIFE! They will take the beatings that only Albertan winters can dish out. The seats are comfortable and they’re attachments are fantastic. We have teh jogging wheel, the regular stroller wheels, the sling seat for newborn babies, the extra storage rack for up top and the bike attachment. We would never go back to another stroller after having this one.

    The down side is that they are not cheap. They have a warranty against anything and everything but it’s a big upfront cost.


Leave a Reply

