A Mommy and her boys

Playing, diapers, learning diapers, feeding, diapers and growing…one day at a time!

Doctors and a house February 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — harrisonandmommy @ 5:00 pm

So yesterday I went to do my first non-stress test (NST).  I got there and realized I had forgotten Harrison’s stroller.  So I knew I was in for a rough go.  Well, I get there and the secretary tells me I have a $40 co-pay.  I asked if that was for EVERY NST.  She informed that it was.  Ladies, that is $80/week.  I have to do two a week.  What the heck?  No one told me about that little tidbit of info.  So I was ticked off.  I did the math VERY quickly in my head and that is $640 until the end of the pregnancy that I have to come up with.  I don’t spend $80 a week on groceries for my family…I am having a tough time accepting this.  So all the NST is they put monitors on my belly and monitor the baby’s heartrate — $40??????  If the baby’s numbers drop to a certain level then I have to have an ultrasound.  Well, sure enough, as luck would have it, I had to have an ultrasound too.  And I’m thinking, great, another $40 co-pay for that too, I’m sure.  Well, thankfully it was $40 for an diagnostic services that day.  So the ultrasound was included.  My appointment was at 1:30 and I didn’t get on the road back home until 4.  I had to wait to get my ultrasound because they had to work me into scheduled appointments.  Remember…no stroller.  Harrison did really well considering.  Thankfully during all of this is when I found out that we got the house, otherwise I don’t know if I could have handled it!

During the ultrasound Harrison threw all of the Cherrios I gave him onto the floor — nice.  The ultrasound tech was able to tell me the weight.  I’m almost 33 weeks and the baby is 5 lbs, 7 ounces.  They start gaining a pound a week soon, so we are in for another big one, I’m sure.  Anyway, it was great to see the baby again.  She was able to get some great shots of the baby’s face and, if you ask me, it looked just like Harrison did.  Anyway, that’s the news from here.

 

6 Responses to “Doctors and a house”

  1. whimsicalchaos Says:

    OMG… all of that was included with my pregnancy stuff with the OBGYN… double check with your insurance… and do you guys have a FSA account? If you do you can submit that and get it back… I can completely understand why you were freaking out!! HUGS!!

  2. Sandra Says:

    okay, yeah. that totally bites! What kind of insurance do you have?? I’ve NEVER heard of that kind of a copay whammy before!

    but congrats on the house!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Shauna Says:

    I have never had to pay extra for ultrasounds, stress tests, etc. I would more than upset about that expense, also! $80 per week could be used for so much!
    Good luck with the house!

  4. Chas Says:

    You should make sure they have your insurance info correct. Usually for maternity you only have one copay at the very beginning.

  5. harrisonandmommy Says:

    Thanks for all of the advice, girls! I’m going to do some calling around to make sure this is all right. Thanks 🙂

  6. twinsRus Says:

    I had to have nst done biweekly too! I never had to pay a copay for them! Thank god. I would never have been able to afford it. I really feel for ya that stinks!


Leave a Reply

