A Mommy and her boys

Playing, diapers, learning diapers, feeding, diapers and growing…one day at a time!

Getting caught with your pants down…literally February 21, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — harrisonandmommy @ 12:59 pm

So last night I went to bed at 8:30 with a migraine.  Brian came to bed about 10:30.  I woke up to go to the bathroom.  Now, I’m a girl, I don’t need the light on.  So I didn’t turn on the light and I didn’t have my glasses on (I am blind as a bat without them).  I sat down to do my thing and saw something move behind the door — I jumped up and ran out of the bathroom screaming that there was something behind the door.  I jumped on the bed and then realized how silly I must look with my undies around my ankles screaming.  So Brian, my hero, saved me.  It was the BIGGEST cockroach I have ever seen.  Now, coming from Canada I haven’t exactly seen a lot of cockroaches (thankfully).  I have seen a few since we moved here and they have been like 1.5 centimetres, maybe.  This one was about an inch and a half.  It was NASTY!  The kitties were trying to catch it too as well as Brian.  Anyway, that’s my humorous post for a while.

I’m sure you are all wanting a Harrison update.  He is back to his goofy crazy self but still has that nasty cough.  I don’t think the nebulizer machine is working properly.  I followed all of the instructions but the medicine doesn’t seem to evaporate at all.  I can run it for 10 minutes and the same amount of medicine is there.  I’m hoping to figure out this mystery today.  At first Harrison was having NOTHING to do with the nebulizer.  I was holding him down to give it to him (I felt AWFUL!).  Then a couple more times of it and I figured out that if he sits on the ottoman and I give him toys to keep him distracted he will keep it strapped on and play.  He was doing really well, but I REALLY don’t think it is working properly.  And his cough isn’t getting any better.

On the house front, we are 99% sure we won’t be closing tomorrow.  The bank only got the docs yesterday afternoon.  Thanks to our stupid bank who wouldn’t release a cashier’s cheque we had deposited a week ago.  I thought that was the entire point of a cashier’s cheque, was it worked like cash.  The bank said they hold every cashier’s cheque to verify the funds.  They knew we were closing tomorrow.  The hold on the funds went off last night at midnight.  But we had to have a verification of deposit so the bank knows that our closing funds are available.  Anyway, this is stupid.  That’s what I know.

On the diabetes front everything is the same.  I found out that my midwife’s office doesn’t charge for them but my GD’s dr’s office does.  I can’t do all of them at my midwife’s office, I have to do at least 50% at my GD’s dr’s office.  That’s better than all of them.  Today I have an NST at my midwife’s office as well as my weekly visit with her and this afternoon I have a visit with the GD doctor.  Not fun.  With Harrison having bronchiolitis, I can’t leave him with anyone so I have to take him with me.  Oh well.

Oh, and one more thing — I chipped another tooth last night.  I chipped a tooth when my parents were here a couple of weeks ago.  Well, I chipped another one.  Now I’m Mrs. Gaptooth.  I would run out and get them fixed but we don’t have dental insurance because it would be cheaper for me to fly home to Canada and have my brother fix them, BUT I can’t cross the border yet so I have to pay to get it fixed here.  I would do that, but what little money I have saved has to go to fix our van which has about $300 in repairs needed asap.  I was going to do that this week, but just haven’t done it.  The rest of our money and then some has gone to close on the house.

So, I’m Mrs. Gaptooth.  Poop.

There’s the update!  I’ll end with a picture since that was all kind of boring!  The picture is from a few weekends ago when Brian got to go skydiving.  I haven’t gone through the actual skydiving ones, but here is one from later in the day.  They were checking out an alligator in the water behind them and on their way back to the van.

daddyandme.jpg

 

7 Responses to “Getting caught with your pants down…literally”

  1. whimsicalchaos Says:

    oh you poor thing… I hope everythingworks out with the house… etc… and why can’t you cross the board yet?

  2. Chas Says:

    Maybe by the time you can afford to get your tooth fixed, you’ll be able to cross the border and have your brother fix it. Why is it that you can’t cross the border? Is it the pregnancy??

  3. Sharon Says:

    Thatès too bad that everything seems to be happening at once 😦 Glad to hear that Harrison is being a trooper about being sick and tagging along with all of your appointments. Good luck with the house, teeth, van, GD and everything else!

  4. harrisonandmommy Says:

    Thanks, everyone!

    I can’t cross the border because my immigration paperwork isn’t finished yet. It is a long story. Anyway, that’s it!

  5. Alyson Says:

    Its amazing what adrenalin can do. To be able to get a prego lady off the pot and on to her bed quickly before she notices her underpants aren’t where they should be, must be powerful stuff

    We can’t cross the boarder either. I put my paperwork in 4 months ago and just got a letter this week to tell me that it will take another 5-7 months.

  6. Kiki Says:

    They grow those bugs BIG in Florida!

    I have a similar story form when I was 11. It was my younger cousin who came in to save me. Luckily, all I had to do was drop a skirt to cover my girly bits!

  7. Lisa Says:

    Good luck with the house. I used to be a settlement Officer and as long as you guys stay flexable they may be able to get the documents for closing tommorrow. My Fingers are crossed…..Oh and I LOVE this picture!


Leave a Reply

