A Mommy and her boys

Playing, diapers, learning diapers, feeding, diapers and growing…one day at a time!

The Birth Story April 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — harrisonandmommy @ 11:02 pm

This won’t be as exciting as most since it was a scheduled C-section, but here it is nonetheless!

Brian and I went to Babies R Us that morning to pick up a few last-minute things.  My dad and Brian did some moving that morning into the new house.  Then at 11:30 a.m. Brian and I headed to the hospital.  I was sad to leave Harrison.  I haven’t spent a night away from him other than having Sterling, so it was hard.  We were also totally excited to meet our new little family member.

So we got to the hospital at around noon and I was admitted.  Then they hooked me up to the monitors and we waited.  The doctor came in and chatted with us quite a bit actually.  We were her only C-section that afternoon, so we had a good chat with her.  That two hours until the C-section took FOREVER.  Brian went and ate and I hung out waiting for the C-section.  He returned just in time for them to take me to the OR.  So into the OR I went and I left Brian outside to get him geared up while they did my spinal.  Here is the really only interesting part of all of the birth story, the spinal.

So I met the anesthesiologist, he was this big Tongan-looking dude.  He was super funny and I felt totally comfortable with him doing the spinal.  Some may know that with Harrison I didn’t have an epidural because the thought of someone putting something into my spine TOTALLY freaks me out.  Well, I ended up with a C-section with Harrison, so I think that fear had subsided some by the time it came for this C-section.

So I’m talking to the anesthesiologist the whole time and then it comes time to start the spinal.  All of a sudden a girl starts talking to me and saying “okay, so you are going to feel me do this and do that.”  Okay, so I think she is just his assistant?  Nope, I was wrong.  She couldn’t get the tube in the right spot and I kept feeling it.  Finally the guy came over and it took him a milisecond and it was in.  I HAD A STUDENT!  I guess I forgot about the paper I signed saying it was a teaching hospital and I would allow people to work on me?  Anyway, I survived.

The worst part of it all was I convulsed through most of it.  Every time they would push on me to get the baby out I would gag.  It was awful.  In fact, I was convulsing in the recovery room too.  It went away eventually, but it really wasn’t fun.

So that night they had Sterling in our room and they told us that he was spitting up ad lot because they didn’t suction him very well.  Well, he wasn’t just spitting up, he was choking on it.  So every 5 minutes, that’s not an exaggeration, Brian was over checking on Sterling and suctioning him out.  So after about an hour or two I called the nurse and asked her to take Sterling into the nursery so nurses that are trained to take care of this could watch him and Brian and I could get some sleep.  I got Sterling back at about 6 a.m. and he ahd stopped spitting up by then.

Thankfully we had lots of family around to watch Harrison and play with him. 

I would love to post pictures, but I have to figure out how with the new WordPress stuff…

 

6 Responses to “The Birth Story”

  1. Chas Says:

    Well, I think that was the shortest birth story I’ve ever read, lol. I’m glad there wasn’t anything traumatic in there to make it longer :).

  2. Sharon Says:

    Poor guy. Glad he is not spitting up anymore and that your birthstory wasn’t long and horrid.

  3. Katrina Says:

    sounds great to me. Glad all is good. I know it’s exhausting. Wish I could be there to help.

    Love,
    Trina

  4. Marie Says:

    It is scarey when your little newborn is still plugged up and they start to choke. I’m glad the nurses were able to take him and make sure he was alright.

  5. Emma Says:

    Just wanted to say congrats. He’s another cutie!

  6. Lowa Says:

    Your boys are just gorgeous and I cannot get over the names you choose. SO ELEGANT and perfect for wee boys or grown men.

    I am so sorry about the spinal and the student. They maybe should have told you someone else would do it, just so you did not wonder about a female voice suddenly seemingly out of nowhere?? LOL I am glad you did so well with it! Sorry to hear about the convulsions and gagging:( NO FUN! And poor little man, choking on his spit up:( I am glad that is over and he is doing so well now!

    Enjoy this time. Soak up everything, even the lack of sleep. Honestly. My two oldest boys are now almost 16 and almost 13 and man…they are so fun in many ways but honestly I really miss the days when they kissed/hugged each other and played together and any spat was easily resolved! Treasure this time! People always told me that and I always did enjoy it, but it just goes by SO FAST!


Leave a Reply

