A Mommy and her boys

Playing, diapers, learning diapers, feeding, diapers and growing…one day at a time!

Sleeping… June 17, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — harrisonandmommy @ 12:04 pm

Sterling slept from 12 to 7 last night!  And he had a quick drink and went back to sleep!  I gotta say that I really enjoy sleep 🙂  Of course I’m hoping this is the beginning of a trend, but I’m not holding my breath 🙂

Father’s Day was okay.  Brian doesn’t really get into Father’s Day, so we didn’t really do much special.

Yesterday I went to a playgroup and it was great to meet normal mommies!  I found them at www.meetup.com it is a great site to meet people in groups that are interested in the same things as you.  I run a photography group from there and I found the mommies group there.  We had fun!  Harrison made some friends.  There was a little girl there born the same day as Sterling.  She was almost 11 lbs yesterday.  Her mom couldn’t believe they were born the same day.  Sterling is almost 17 lbs.

I have a new calling in church.  I am 1st Counselor in the Relief Society, which, to those who aren’t Mormon, that will sound weird.  The Relief Society is our women’s organization for just us women.  I am just going to be helping in the organization and running of it.  I am in charge of education.

Harrison was in nursery at church on Sunday and they had substitute teachers in there and both of the teachers came up to me separately afterwards to tell me how polite Harrison is!  Woooo hoooo!  All of that work on pleases and thank-yous is working.  They said he also cleaned up all the time and just was a great kid!  Yes!  At the mommies group yesterday the moms were saying the same thing about him.  And now that I think about it…he does say pleasek, thank you and your welcome more than any other kid I’ve heard his age.  I just drill it into him.  He doesn’t do anything without saying this properly.  Also, Brian and I have always made a point even before having kids of making sure we say please and thank you to each other — it may sound silly, but we don’t want to get out of the habit and take things for granted, and we wanted our kids to be polite.  It’s working!

Oh, and on Sunday after the first prayer Harrison finished it with a VERY loud resounding “Amennnnnnnnnn” everyone laughed…I’m sure I turned red.  He loves to say prayers and can almost say his night time prayers by himself, he just needs a little help, and he always loves the “amen” part, but this was way too loud and rambunctious!  It’s a good thing he is so cute!

Hmmm…that’s it from here!  I was going to end with pictures but I don’t know where I put my camera!  Oh well!

 

5 Responses to “Sleeping…”

  1. Chas Says:

    Meetup is a great site. The mommy group I assistant organize is through that site, and it has been such a blessing since I became a SAHM. It’s such a user friendly site. Other mommy groups I joined I never knew if anyone was going to show up to the events, but the RSVP system really makes that a non-issue.

  2. Shauna Says:

    Congratulations on getting some sleep! When the baby finally sleeps at night, you feel like a human again!

  3. Sharon Says:

    I thought for sure you could enjoy a cushy calling after YW prez and a baby…but sounds like you will still be busy!

  4. Jamie Says:

    I cannot believe how big Sterling is getting! Tanaia just had a doctor’s apt and she weighs 18 lbs but she is almost 9 months. She is also 27 1/4 inches too with an 18 inch noodle. The sad thing is that Casen weighs 24.2 lbs and is 33 1/2 inches. Not much difference. Poor guy. Good luck with your new calling and more sleep!

  5. whimsicalchaos Says:

    I finally got Lore to put her hands together for prayer yesterday lol… I was so happy!!

    We have Lore saying please and thank you… but most of the time she bows her head when she says please and thank you and she thinks that is good enough lol… oh the minds of 2 year olds lol…


Leave a Reply

